skip to content


Sunday 17 March: 5:00pm - 6:15pm

Newnham College, The Old Labs, Sidgwick Avenue, CB3 9DF

Over the course of 2016-17, composer Darren Bloom, and physicist Joseph Davighi, both PhD researchers at the University of Cambridge, collaborated intensively on a new string quartet, commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Society, and premiered at the Cheltenham Music Festival. Drawing on Carlo Rovelli’s recent bestseller Seven Brief Lessons on Physics for inspiration, they delved deep into the subject matter touched upon in each chapter to find points of collision where principles from physics and music could marry to express the same fundamental concept.

From using complex cross-rhythms to express the time dilation that occurs as one approaches a black hole, to using aleatoric notation to illustrate Heisenberg’s Uncertainty Principle, Davighi and Bloom, with the assistance of the award-winning Piatti String Quartet, will demonstrate in an interactive and illustrated lecture-recital how their ideas developed from these shared principles into a fully-fledged dramatic musical composition. Audience members will also have the opportunity to participate in the music-making by volunteering to guide the performers through sections of the piece, thus giving them a deeper insight into the physics behind the music.

The event will conclude with a complete performance of the work.

Booking Information

Telephone number:
01223 766766

Booking required


Full access

Additional Information

Age: 11+, Performance, Talk, Arrive on time, Free